Friday, October 26, 2012

FSSC 22000


The Foundation for Food Safety Certification was founded in 2004. The Foundation developed FSSC 22000. This certification is supported by GFSI-Global Food Safety Intiative which we have already discussed in this blog. Overview of GFSI 

The foundation is a non-profit organisation which legally owns under the GFSI GD 5 approved HACCP food safety systems certification scheme. It manages its copyrights and owns the licence for the agreements. 

Besides the copyright management the Foundation also:
  • focuses on the international compliance and adaptability of Food Safety Standards 
  • focuses on the development and maintenance of certification and inspection systems for Food Safety 
  • promotes the international use of these Food Safety systems 
  • provides services to support the certification of Food Safety systems 
  • provides information on Food Safety issues

Overview of FSSC 22000

FSSC 22000 is formed to meet the increasing demand for food safety from the manufacturers and consumers. This system incorporates ISO 22000 - for food safety, ISO/TS 22003- for certification bodies, and BSI-PAS 220 for food safety by CIAA-Confederation of the Food and Drink Industry of the EU. Now  the foundation for Food Safety Certification is commissioned by CIAA to develop the scheme and retain the legal ownership of the agreeements and licencing of the certification bodies.

Features of the Scheme

This certification scheme sets out the requirements for certification bodies (CB’s) to develop, implement and operate a system for the assessment and certification of food safety systems of food manufacturing organizations and to guarantee its impartiality and competence. The certificate indicates that the organizations food safety system is in conformance with the requirements which are given in this scheme and that the organization is able to maintain conformance with these requirements. It is however not a guarantee of the organization continuous food safety performance.

This scheme is intended for the audit and certification of the food safety system of food manufacturers that manufacture different products such as animal products, vegetal products, canned products, biochemical products etc.,

The scheme consists of an introductory part and four separate parts in which requirements and/or regulations for the actors in the process of certification have been laid down. These actors are: the food manufacturing organization-part I, the certification body (CB)-part II, the accreditation body (AB)-part III and the Board of Stakeholders (Board).

Apart from this the main sections contain:
- guidance for the food manufacturing organization on how obtain and maintain a FSSC 22000 certificate (Part I),
- regulations of the Foundation concerning the conditions for the use of the scheme and for providing certification and accreditation by the CB and AB (Parts II and III).
Finally, Part IV contains the regulations for the Board which deals with the requirements and regulations of this scheme.

Reference Documents for this scheme

This scheme is based on the following documents and their future versions:
· GFSI Guidance Document, Fifth Edition, September 2007
· IAF Guidance on the Application of ISO/IEC Guide 62;1996 (IAF GD 2: 2005)
· IAF Mandatory Document for duration of QMS and EMS audits; 2009 (Issue 1, IAF MD 5: 2009)
· ISO 9000: 2005, Quality management systems – Fundamentals and vocabulary
· ISO 9001: 2008, Quality management systems – Requirements
· ISO 19011: 2202, Guidelines for quality and/or environmental management systems auditing
· ISO 22000: 2005, Food safety management systems – Requirements for any organisation in the food chain
· ISO/TS 22003: 2007, Food safety management systems – Requirements for bodies providing audit and certification of food safety management systems
· ISO/TS 22004: 2005, Food safety management systems – Guidance on the application of ISO 22000: 2005
· ISO/IEC 17000: 2004, Conformity assessment – Vocabulary and general principles
· ISO/IEC 17011: 2004, Conformity assessment – General requirements for accreditation bodies accrediting conformity assessment bodies
· ISO/IEC 17021: 2006, Conformity assessment – Requirements for bodies providing audit and certification of management systems
· BSI-PAS 220: 2008, Prerequisite programmes on food safety for food manufacturing (Publicly Available Specification of British Standards Institution)

Each reference is used for certain terms and conditions to design the scheme FSSC 22000.

To get more information on this scheme please refer

or download here FSSC 22000

1 comment:

Global Consultant said...

Very good post, I was really searching for this topic, as I wanted this topic to understand completely and it is also very rare in internet, that is why it was very difficult to understand.

Documents FSSC22000

Post a Comment

Please, "Sign Up" Here and Get Free ISO Module

Backlink Builder

Enter Keyword (Theme)